Spanglerpic.jpg.w560h396

History

The Metamora Carriage and Driving Association was founded in 1974 as an informal association dedicated to the pursuit of carriage driving. Learning to drive properly and safely was the principal goal.

In 1985 MCDA organized its first Combined Driving Event recognized by the American Driving Socirty. In the intervening years, the event has become a nationally known competition. The association added a Pleasure Driving Show in 2007 and a Recreational Drive in 2010 as ADS recognized activities.

Today, the association has over 100 members who enjoy a variety of recreational, educational, and social club activities in addition to the competitive events and shows organized by both the MCDA and other driving groups. Included among the members are accomplished drivers, novices and those who just like the activities and friendship.

MCDA is governed by a board of nine elected by the members:

Officers

President                Larry Wheeler  lnwheeler@charter.net

Vice President         Carol Becker

Secretary                                  -                            -                        -

Treasurer              Janet Cisler  cislerjj@yahoo.com

Board Members

Carol Beens cbeens@netzero.net

Tricia Cecile tcecile.6311@gmail.com

Julie Kinzie  jkinzie@sbcglobal.net

Mari Yancho mari.yancho@mcc.edu

Committee Heads

Carriage Tracks Editor - Alicia Pierce  stoneoakfarm@gmail.com

Combined Driving - Barb Chapman adsbarb@hotmail.com

Darlene Daly - ddaly0037@gmail.com

Membership - Carol Beens  cbeens@netzero.net

Pleasure Driving - Alicia Pierce  stoneoakfarm@gmail.com

Safety Committee - Carol Becker

Social - Julie Kinzie   jkinzie@sbcglobal.net

Website Editor - Julie Kinzie jkinzie@sbcglobal,net

BurgessTeam.JPG.w180h125

-

Bridgesmall-1.JPG.w180h120

-